Click on image to zoom

At Your Birthday Party - CD

1969—The Wolf's third album includes the hit “Rock Me” from the motion picture soundtrack Candy. Other highlights include: “It's Never Too Late,” “Jupiter's Child,” “Chicken Wolf,” and “Happy Birthday.” Songs: Don't Cry, Lovely Meter, Round and Round, Sleeping Dreaming, She'll Be Better, Cat Killer, God Fearing Man, Mango Juice.
Pricing: $12.99


The recording sessions for "At Your Birthday Party" started to show the wear and tear of the road on all of us. In addition, some band members for the first time, tried their hand at songwriting and I had run out of tunes to contribute. This album nevertheless includes some of my favorite Steppenwolf tracks such as "Happy Birthday", "Jupiter's Child" and "Rock Me". Nick St. Nicholas (who had replaced our original bassist Rushton Moreve) had an idea for a song titled "It's Never Too Late", which triggered me to work out the rest of the song. That one is an all time favorite of mine. Gabriel Mekler (our Producer) had his hands full trying to be fair to all band members and stay neutral to allow us to work out the difficulties on our own. The fact that the song "Rock Me" (which had been written for the soundtrack of the motion picture "Candy") had already been a hit single before it was included in the "Birthday album" may have reduced the impact of the album because the initial sales of the LP were not what we had hoped for, although over the years, it became quite popular with many of our fans.

Track List

  1. DON'T CRY (G. Mekler)
  2. CHICKEN WOLF (M. Monarch/J. Kay)
  3. LOVELY METER (G. Mekler)
  4. ROUND AND DOWN (M. Monarch)
  5. IT'S NEVER TOO LATE (J. Kay/N. St. Nicholas)
  6. SLEEPING DREAMING (N. St. Nicholas)
  7. JUPITER CHILD (M. Monarch/J. Kay/J. Edmonton)
  8. SHE'LL BE BETTER (G. Mekler/J. Edmonton)
  9. CAT KILLER (J. Goadsby)
  10. ROCK ME (J. Kay)
  11. GOD FEARING MAN (M. Monarch)
  12. MANGO JUICE (J. Edmonton/M. Monarch/J. Goadsby/N. St. Nicholas)
  13. HAPPY BIRTHDAY (G. Mekler)
Get a free CD slip case with every 4 CD purchase


  • 5096041
  • New


Shipping Information

  • Item Requires Shipping

Customer Reviews

Comment Total Reviews (0)

Write the First Review!

You must login to post a review.